040 357 16 96 - 0
info@shatlers.de
HR
Shop

Mai Tai

Only few cocktails are as famous as the Mai Tai. The fruity rum cocktail made with orange, almond and lemon is a real classic and shall not be missed on any cocktail menu. The long drink supposedly was invented in 1944 in San Francisco, California by Trader Vic. He claims to have mixed the first Mai Tai for two of his friends from Tahiti, who were so enthusiastic about the delicious drink, that they shouted out: “Mai Tai – Roa Ae”. In English this means: “Not of this earth – the best”. The SHATLER’s Mai Tai has an abv of 12,7 %.

more »

Original Mai Tai recipe first revealed in 1972

The Mai Tai, often also spelled Mai Thai, is one of the classic tiki cocktails, that were created during the prohibition in the USA. Back then bartenders saw the cocktail recipes as their assets and kept the ingredients and compositions of their drinks secret. Therefore the Trader Vic’s Mai Tai recipe was first revealed almost 30 years after the first Mai Tai was served. In the book “Trader Vic’s Bartender’s Guide – Revised” he spills the secret of the recipe of the original Mai Tai. According to the book he used 6cl of 17 years old Wray and Nephew rum, curaçao orange, Orgeat syrup and sugar syrup as well as of fresh lime juice.

The evolution of a long drink

Today’s Mai Tai recipe differs from the original recipe by Trader Vic. One of the reasons for this is, that the rum originally used by him soon was no longer available and had to be replaced by other kinds of rum. Today most bars use Jamaican or Martinique rum. In a lot of Mai Tais additional juices and other ingredients are used. According to the official recipe of the IBA for a Mai Tai, this cocktail is mixed with 4cl of white rum, 2cl of brown rum, curaçao orange, Orgeat syrup and fresh lime juice.

SHATLER’s Mai Tai – a sour and fruity long drink

This recipe is also the basis of the recipe of the SHATLER’s Mai Tai. We only use the best ingredients for our long drink and mix it with several kinds of rum, dry orange curaçao, almond and lemon. The result is an extraordinary delicious sour and fruity long drink. The SHATLER’s Mai Tai has an alcoholic content of 12,7 %.

mai tai SHATLER's Shopfinder

HR
Shop

Mai Tai

Kaum ein Cocktail ist weltweit so bekannt wie der Mai Tai. Der fruchtige Rum-Cocktail mit Orange, Mandel und Zitrone ist ein echter Klassiker und heutzutage ein Muss auf jeder Cocktailkarte. Der Longdrink soll bereits 1944 in San Francisco von Trader Vic erfunden worden sein. Demnach mixte er die ersten Mai Tais für zwei gute Freunde aus Tahiti. Diese sollen nach dem Probieren begeistert gerufen haben: „Mai Tai Roa Ae“, was so viel heißt wie „Nicht von dieser Welt – das Beste“ und so dem Mai Tai seinen Namen gegeben haben. Der SHATLER’s Mai Tai enthält 12,7 Volumenprozent Alkohol.

mehr »

Original Mai Tai Rezept erstmals 1972 verraten

Der Mai Tai, oft auch Mai Thai geschrieben, zählt zu den klassischen Tiki-Drinks, die in der Zeit nach der Prohibition in den USA entstanden. Damals sahen die Barkeeper die Rezepte für ihre Cocktails als ihr Kapital an und verrieten die Zutaten und Zusammensetzungen ihrer Kreationen nicht. Daher tauchte das Originalrezept nach Trader Vic erst 1972 in seinem Buch „Trader Vic’s Bartender’s Guide- Revised“ zum ersten Mal auf. Demnach verwendete er für seinen Mai Tai 6 cl Rum Wray und Nephew (17 Jahre alt), 1,5 cl Curaçao Orange, Orgeat- und Zuckersirup sowie frisch gepressten Limettensaft.

Ein Longdrink im Wandel

Heute wird der Mai Tai nicht mehr nach dem Originalrezept von Trader Vic gemixt. Ein Grund dafür liegt unter anderem darin, dass der Original-Rum, den er für den Mai Tai verwendet hatte, bald nicht mehr zur Verfügung stand und deshalb durch andere Rumsorten ersetzt werden musste. Heute findet man in vielen Bars einen Mai Tai auf der Karte der zur Hälfte mit Jamaikanischen Rum und zur anderen Hälfte mit Martinique Rum gemixt wird. In anderen Rezepten werden häufig zusätzliche Säfte und Zutaten verwendet. Laut der International Barkeepers Association wird ein Mai Tai aus 4 cl weißem und 2 cl braunem Rum, Curaçao Orange, Orgeatsirup und frischem Limettensaft zubereitet.

SHATLER’s Mai Tai – ein sauer-fruchtiger Cocktail

An dieser Zusammensetzung orientiert sich auch der SHATLER’s Mai Tai. Für unseren Tiki-Cocktail verwenden wir nur die besten Zutaten: verschiedene Rumsorten, Orangenlikör, Mandel und Zitrone. Das Ergebnis ist ein köstlich fruchtiger Rum-Cocktail.

maitai SHATLER's Mai Tai kaufenSHATLER's ShopfinderMeinungen über den SHATLER's Mai Tai

Rezepte mit dem Mai Tai

Mai Tai Bowle
Mai Tai Cake Pops
Krawallschachtel
Hot Mai Tai